Golfing Magazine Online -
World Golf Hall of Fame Induction on May 9
Golfing Magazine Staff
By Golfing Magazine Staff
Published on 04/1/2011

World Golf Hall of Fame Induction on May 9

The World Golf Hall of Fame and Museum will hold its 2011 Induction Ceremony May 9, the first time the event has been held on its new date, the Monday of Players Championship week.
Current PGA Tour star Ernie Els, heroes from the past Doug Ford and Jock Hutchison, Japanese legend Jumbo Ozaki, pioneering CBS television producer Frank Chirkinian, and former president George H.W. Bush make up the Class of 2011.

“Staging the annual induction ceremony in the heart of the golf season, just before one of golf’s most thrilling events, is a great opportunity for the Hall of Fame,” said its COO Jack Peter.

Els began his golf career at age 14 when he won the World Junior golf Championship with a scratch handicap. He turned professional in 1989 and has won more than 60 tournaments on the international stage. His major wins include two U.S. Opens Championships and the Open Championship. Els is also a six-time member of the International team for The Presidents Cup.

Ford won 25 tournaments in his professional career, including the 1955 PGA Championship and the 1957 Masters. Hutchison won the 1920 PGA Championship, the 1921 Open Championship, and the 1920 and 1923 Western Opens. His Open Championship victory marked the first time a U.S.-based player won the famed Claret Jug.

Ozaki is one of Japan’s greatest players. He won the first of six Japan PGA Championships in 1969. Over his career, he was the leading money winner on the Japan Golf Tour 12 times and won five Japan Opens.

Chirkinian and Bush will both join the Hall through the Lifetime Achievement Category. Chirkinian, known as the father of golf on television, was the executive producer for golf on CBS, including every Masters broadcast, from 1959-1996. Bush helped raise the profile of golf considerably during and after his administration. Among his achievements are the 1997 PGA of America Distinguished Service Award, the USGA’s Bob Jones Award and the 2009 PGA TOUR Lifetime Achievement Award.

For tickets and more information, go to