Sign up for our Free E-Newsletter and receive Product Information, Local Outing Information, Local Tournament Results, Upcoming Events and best of all information about FREE GOLF where you live. Register Now

Subscriptions/ Free Golf Program
Business/Career Opportunity
About Us
Magazine Departments
Company Profiles
Product of the Week
Player Profiles
Featured Resorts
Regional Editorials
Upper Mid-West
New Jersey, PA
Central Mid-West
Long Island, Metro NY
Rocky Mountains
West Coast
Gear & Accessories
Play Testing
New on the Tee
Player’s Choice Awards
Golf Schools
Top Instructors
Training Aids
Tour/Major’s  News

Advertising Info & Media Kit
< <
Orange Whip
Latest Edition

Article Options
Popular Articles
  1. Golf in Maui
  2. Scott Van Pelt: A Decade as ESPN’s Golf Reporter
  3. New Golf Products - By Tom Landers
  4. Hybrids Continue To Be Widely Accepted and Deliver on their Promise – Easy to Use and Fun To Play.
  5. Hank Haney’s PlaneFinder Can Change Your Game
No popular articles found.
Popular Authors
  1. Web Master
  2. Matt Adams
  3. Derek Hooper
  4. Golfing Magazine Staff
  5. Mike Stinton
  6. Tom Landers
  7. John Torsiello
  8. Katharine Dyson
  9. Sean Fitzsimmons
  10. Tom Landers
No popular authors found.
 »  Home  »  Magazine Departments  »  Company Profiles  »  The Hall is Now Home
The Hall is Now Home
By Tom Landers | Published  10/17/2007 | Company Profiles | Unrated
Six New Individuals to be inducted in to the World Golf Hall of Fame in November
The waiting game is over!  The World Golf Hall of Fame has completed its revelation of the 2007 Class of Inductees.  A series of announcements took place throughout the summer at various venues across the world to present the six individuals chosen for golf’s highest honor – the World Golf Hall of Fame.

The 2007 Class is comprised of:

Joe Carr (Lifetime Achievement) – Ireland’s Carr won The Amateur Championship three times in 1953, 1958 and 1960 and won 37 championships in Ireland between 1941 and 1969.  Carr played in a record 10 Walker Cup matches and won the USGA’s Bob Jones Award in 1961.  In 1991, Carr was Captain of The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews.

Hubert Green (Veteran’s Category) – Green turned professional in 1969 and won 19 PGA TOUR titles, including two major championships: the 1977 U.S. Open and 1985 PGA Championship.  He played on the 1977, 1979 and 1985 U.S. Ryder Cup teams and since his rookie season on the Champions Tour in 1997, has earned four victories.

Charles Blair Macdonald (Lifetime Achievement) – Macdonald is credited with building the first 18-hole golf course in the United States and, later coining the term “golf architect.” One of Macdonald’s designs includes The National Golf Links of America in Long Island, NY, where the inaugural Walker Cup Match was held in 1922.  In addition, Macdonald was instrumental in the founding of the United States Golf Association and was also a highly respectable player, having won the first official U. S. Amateur Championship in 1895. 

Kel Nagle (Veteran’s Category) – Australian  Nagle is most well known for his 1960 Open Championship victory, in addition to a career that includes 61 wins in Australasia, victories in Europe, Asia and North America.   Together with fellow Hall of Fame member Peter Thomson, Nagle won the 1954 and 1959 World Cups.

Se Ri Pak (LPGA Points System) – Pak is the most successful South Korean golfer with 23 career LPGA Tour wins, including five major championships.  Her first LPGA victory came at a major tournament, the 1998 McDonald’s LPGA Championship, the year she joined the LPGA Tour.  In her second major championship that year, she became the youngest player to win a U.S. Women’s Open after a 20-hole playoff. Pak turned professional in 1996 and competed on the Korea LPGA for two years, winning six tournaments from 1996-97.  She won 30 tournaments in Korea as an amateur, after having picked up the game at age 14.

Curtis Strange (PGA TOUR Ballot) – Since turning professional in 1976, Strange has earned 17 PGA TOUR victories, including back-to-back U.S. Opens in 1988 and 1989. He became the first player in PGA TOUR history to win consecutive U.S. Opens since Ben Hogan in 1950-51. Strange played on five U.S. Ryder Cup teams and captained the 2002 team.

On the evening of Monday, November 12, the Hall of Fame will welcome the new induction class in an outdoor ceremony full of the honor and prestige each member deserves.  The fashioning of the grand ceremony has been underway for months, and the focus is now turned on highlighting the newly announced inductees and their Hall of Fame-worthy lives and careers.  The ceremony itself will host an international array of visitors as well as the returning of a number of current Hall of Fame members, including Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer.

The Hall of Fame will honor its newest class of inductees within the museum for visitors to enjoy.  The inductees will be paid special tribute in the center of the museum, Shell Hall, named for the Hall’s founding partner, Shell Oil Company.  Each exhibit will illustrate the lives, careers and contributions of Carr, Green, Macdonald, Nagle, Pak and Strange through trophies, medals, writings and a variety of genuine and special artifacts specific to each member.  Additionally, the new members will receive a hand-crafted bronze plaque to be included on the museum’s Wall of Fame alongside the Hall’s other over 100 members.  Finally, the six new members will receive their own wooden locker in the Hall’s Member Locker Room.  Each new inductee’s locker, adorned with a corresponding name plaque, will hold carefully selected pieces of authentic memorabilia chosen by the member or their families to be presented. 

The 2007 Induction Ceremony will be held at the World Golf Hall of Fame in St. Augustine, Fla. and is free and open to the public. 

Induction Ceremony packages or visits to the World Golf Hall of Fame at World Golf Village can be booked by calling 1-800-WGV-GOLF or visiting